

Family Law Section

Mailing address: P.O. Box 55020, Los Angeles, CA 90055-2020 (213) 896-6548 / Fax (213) 896-6586 Writer's Direct No.:

Section Officers

May 7, 2011

Debra S. Frank
Chair
Robert C. Brandt
Chair-Elect
Lynette Berg Robe
Vice-Chair
Seth D. Kramer
Secretary
Peter M. Walzer
Treasurer
Roberta Bennett
Immediate Past Chair

Dear LACBA Family Law Section 2011 Symposium Attendees:

On behalf of the Executive Committee of the Family Law Section, welcome to the 43rd Annual Family Law Symposium, Family Law 2011, The New Realities.

Special thanks and recognition are due to Robert C. Brandt, Symposium Chair, and to his hard-working subcommittee for creating this exceptional program which focuses on an analysis of the changes to family law as a result of the Elkins reforms and their practical implementation in this new era of family law.

This year, our Family Law Section has sought to educate practitioners as to Elkins changes and their practical effect. Some of our significant Elkins programs were the 32nd Annual Child Custody Colloquium focusing on the voices of the child in contested custody proceedings in light of the Elkins Task Force recommendations; a distinguished panel which discussed the practical application of AB 939 and AB 1050 and how to litigate a case under the new law, our interactive Evidence with the Masters Program: Family Code Section 217 Tamed, a program of particular importance to family law practitioners in the new "217 era of live hearings" and our outstanding brown bag lunch with Central District Judicial Officers responding to our questions about the effects of Elkins on their courtrooms and current courtroom procedures.

Thanks are due to our Supervising Judge, Marjorie Steinberg, and to all of our Family Law Judicial Officers who contributed so much of their valuable time to our education, to all of our CLE Chairs, Co-Chairs, and speakers for providing excellent programs throughout the year, and to the entire Family Law Section Executive Committee for their commitment to the practice of family law, the education of their fellow practitioners and their overall contributions to the court, especially in their enhancement of the mediation and voluntary settlement conference officer programs, to the community, including our focus on the low income and less advantaged populace through our support of the Domestic Violence Project of the Los Angeles County Bar and our significant donations to organizations serving those communities, and the administration of justice, including our review of legislation and proposed statewide and local rules of court.

Thanks also go to all of you for your participation and your support throughout the year at our programs and on our renowned listserve. I enjoyed and was honored to serve as Chair of the Family Law Section for the 2010-2011 term, a time of uncertainty and challenges in family law, and thank you for this opportunity.

Executive Committee

Andrea Balian Judy L. Bogen Ronald F. Brot Gary Fishbein Rose Marie Gallegos Raymond Goldstein Christiaan Gordon Barbara K. Hammers Paula Kane David S. Karton Connolly Oyler Cari M. Pines Lucia A. Reves Claudia Ribet Glen H. Schwartz David Shebby Haewon Shin Roslyn Soudry Joseph Spirito Jeff M. Sturman Evan T. Sussman Sorrell Trope Heidi S. Tuffias Charles K. Wake Marshall Waller David K. Yamamoto

Judicial Officers

Hon. John Chemeleski Hon. Scott Gordon Hon. Mark Juhas Hon. Maren E. Nelson Hon. Marjorie Steinberg

Liaison

Noel H. Applebaum Tracy F. Katz David Kuroda Margaret A. Little, Ph.D. Mary Lund, Ph.D. Paul White We welcome your ideas and suggestions; please be encouraged to contact me, Robert C. Brandt, Chair-Elect, or any of the other members of the Executive Committee. We encourage you to become involved in our outstanding Section.

Very truly yours,

Debra S. Frank, Chair

LACBA Family Law Section